Monday, 11 November 2013

Sherlock Finds a Home on Kobo

Readers of ebooks might be interested to know that the following Hidden Tiger books can now be found on the Kobo bookstore.

Requiem for Sherlock Holmes
My debut book, which contains the novella 'Sherlock Holmes and the Ancestral Horror' and the short stories 'The Montague Secret', 'The Devil is in the Detail', 'The Lazarus Trap' and 'The Penitent Man'. Stories which push Holmes' wits, not to mention his emotions, to the limit.

The first chapter of 'Sherlock Holmes and the Ancestral Horror' can be viewed for free here.

Needless to say, Requiem for Sherlock Holmes is still available from and Amazon stores in the UK and US (as well as other territories).

Mysteries and Adventures
The very first collection of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s works ever published. Originally released in Great Britain in 1890 by the Walter Scott Company, Mysteries and Adventures collected together seven of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s earliest fictional works. Three years later, two international editions were issued which featured five additional stories.

This publication is based on the Continental edition and contains the stories:
'The Gully of Bluemansdyke', 'The Parson of Jackman's Gulch', 'My Friend The Murderer', 'The Silver Hatchet', 'The Man From Archangel', 'That Little Square Box', 'A Night Among the Nihilists', 'Selecting a Ghost', 'The Mystery of Sasassa Valley', 'Our Derby Sweepstakes', 'The American's Tale' and 'Bones: The April Fool of Harvey's Sluice'. Some of these stories can be difficult to find in printed form.

The narratives in Mysteries and Adventures dance confidently across the genres, touching upon colonial life, political upheaval, the supernatural, romance and the furrow he would later plough to great acclaim, crime.
These twelve entertaining tales plot Doyle's development from budding young writer to the great author that he quickly became.

The collection also contains a new introduction, written by myself, which explores Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's early life and the history of the twelve stories presented in this volume.

Mysteries and Adventures can also be found on lulu and Amazon in the UK and US (and other territories).

Tales from The Moonstone Inn
Whilst this book has nothing at all to do with Sherlock Holmes or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, I believe it is well worth a view. It was written in the 1920s and 1930s by my great-great uncle, Francis William Strapp, a down-on-his-luck Englishman living in Australia. His life seems to be every bit as mysterious as the stories he wrote, from his near-death experience in Sydney to the reasons behind his decision to emigrate to Australia, leaving his wife behind.

For over eighty years the majority of his works remained unpublished, his hand written manuscripts sitting in the bottom drawer of a family member's bureau. In 2011, seventy-four years after his death, his surviving works finally found their way into print.

The book contains two novellas - 'The Moonstone Inn' and 'The Man Who Tossed a Sixpence', mystery adventures set in Australia and the South Pacific. In them, the reader will come across dark schemes and evil deeds, hidden hoards and guarded secrets, mixed in with a smattering of romance. The collection also contains two short stories (one of which can be sampled freely from the Hidden Tiger Website), letters to the press, photographic illustrations and essays which focus on the author's life and the settings for his stories.

Paperback editions of this book can be found via the Hidden Tiger Website

Get an amazing 50% off at the Kobo Bookstore. Just enter the promotional code NOVEND50 at the checkout to receive your discount (code expires at midnight on the 18th November).

Kobo ebooks are sold in the epub format, which are viewable on a varied range of ereaders, tablets and devices.

No comments:

Post a Comment